Anthony Sutcliffe Dissertation Award

IPHS has created an award in honour of Anthony Sutcliffe (founding member of IPHS and Planning Perspectives). The award recognizes the best dissertation in the field of planning history written in English and completed during the two years preceding the conference. There is no restriction on topic, but submissions that most directly and innovatively address the internationalism of the modern planning movement in line with much of Sutcliffe’s work are especially welcome.

The prize was awarded first time at the July 2014 conference of the IPHS  in St. Augustine, Florida, USA. The prize was awarded to Ammon, Francesca Russello (2012) Culture of Clearance: Waging War on the Landscape in Post-war America. Yale University.

The second time it was called the prize at the July 2016 Conference of the IPHS in Delft, Netherlands. The prize was awarded to Gonick, Sophie (2015) At the Margins of Europe: Homeownership, Inclusion, and Protest in Contemporary Madrid. University of California, Berkeley.

Doctoral dissertations completed during 2016 and 2017 are eligible. Self-nominations or nominations from dissertation advisors (on behalf of their students) are welcomed. The award winner will receive free conference registration for the 18th IPHS Conference in Yokoama and a $ 300 prize. All submissions must include the dissertation in single file PDF format, a brief biography of the student with full contact details, identification of the main academic advisor(s) also with contact details, and a letter of affirmation by the dissertation advisor (or some other official university documentation) that the dissertation was completed and successfully passed/defended in the eligibility period.

Submisions deadline is February 28, 2018. Please submit your nomination to:


Anthony Sutcliffe Dissertation Award Committee

The Committee is made up of:

Mr. José Luis Sáinz Guerra, Universidad de Valladolid, Spain (Chair)

Ms. Nancy H. Kwak, UC San Diego, USA

Mr. Karl Friedhelm Fischer, University of New South Wales, Australia

→ Back to AWARDS