Koos Bosma Prize in Planning History Innovation

The Koos Bosma Award will be offered to recognize the authors of books (monographs or edited volumes), major articles or other academic contributions (including innovation in the digital field) developed by single authors or groups, that question accepted views and break away from the standard histories, expanding and modifying planning history enhancing its critical potential. We welcome submissions of outstanding innovative research in the field of planning history, published or developed in the two calendar years preceding an IPHS Conference. The work may be published or presented in English, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Chinese, or Japanese. Every effort will be made to include publications in other languages, although there may be practical limits based on the abilities of the IPHS Council Members. All potential applicants should contact the committee immediately if they would like to submit in a language not listed above.

The winner shall be a member of IPHS at the time of awarding the prize and should attend the bi-annual conference (Yokohama in 2018) in order to receive the prize and to present his/her work. There is a cash prize of 250 Euro (and a waiver of the registration fee).

Applications are invited from scholars for publications that appeared between January 2016 and December 2017:
All submissions must be combined into a single file PDF format, including the submission (or a link to it), the application form and a brief biography of the author with full contact details.
The period for receipt of submissions is only from 1 January to 28 February 2018.

Applications or nomination should be sent electronically to c.m.hein@tudelft.nl with heading: Submission for the Koos Bosma Award.

The Committee members are:

Professor Cor Wagenaar, TU Delft, The Netherlands
Professor Carola Hein, TU Delft The Netherlands
Professor Bogdan Tscherkes, TU L’viv, Ucraine
Professor Nancy Kwak, UC San Diego, USA
Professor Izumi Kuroishi, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan

→ Back to AWARDS